Kathrine Windfeld Big Band

The Danish composer, arranger and pianist Kathrine Windfeld stands in front of her 15-piece Scandinavian orchestra, a youthful, charismatic team of razor-sharp ensemble musicians and star quality soloists. The music is colorful, the compositions merge tradition and innovation with a mixture of intense, physical grooves, sophisticated harmonic passages, poetic ballads and fiery ostinatos in explosive arrangements. With her sensational big band debut “Aircraft” she won “New Artist of the Year” in 2016 at the Danish Music Awards, with further nominations as “Composer of the year” and “Album of the year”. Her 2017 release “Latency” has gained overwhelmingly positive reviews and publicity in large numbers of international music magazines like The Guardian (UK), Downbeat (USA) and Le Monde (FR) calling for a promising future. As the only Danish jazz musician, Kathrine Windfeld has received the honorable one- year grant from The Danish Arts Foundation in 2017 and 2018.

Shortly after initializing Kathrine Windfeld Big Band in 2014, she was headhunted by The Standard Jazz Club in Copenhagen to do a weekly gig during two seasons. Since then, the vital ensemble has shared stage with high profile soloists like Mike Stern, Seamus Blake, George Garzone and Gilad Hekselman. In 2016, Kathrine Windfeld Big Band was chosen among the exclusive few to perform at the Danish clubnight at Jazzahead. In 2018 the band went on UK-tour where they played for full houses at high profile venues like PizzaExpress (London), Turner Sims (Southampton) and Watermill Jazz (Dorking).

Besides her own big band, Kathrine Windfeld is a committed guest composer: In 2018 she has been invited by the renowned Frankfurt Radio Big Band (DE) for a 10-day project, culminating in two concerts with her repertoire to be recorded for radio broadcast. She has collaborated with the Danish Radio Big Band, and has been “Artist in Residence” in Holland, Sweden, Finland and Norway.






Line Up:
André Bak (DK)
Rolf Thofte Sørensen (DK)
Magnus Oseth (NO)
Göran Abelli (SE)
Mikkel Aagaard (DK)
Anders Larson (SE)
Jakob Lundbak (DK)
Roald Elm Larsen (DK)
Ida Karlsson (SE)
Aske Drasbæk (DK)
Rhythm section:
Viktor Sandström (guitar, SE)
Johannes Vaht (bass, SE)
Henrik Holst Hansen (drums, DK)
Kathrine Windfeld (piano, DK)